Carissa Schively Slotterback, PhD

  • Dean, Professor


Named dean of the Graduate School of Public and International Affairs (GSPIA) in 2020, Dr. Slotterback formerly served as Associate Dean of the Humphrey School of Public Affairs at the University of Minnesota. She is widely recognized for her research and teaching on public engagement and decision making in environmental, land use, and transportation planning. She has led a number of initiatives focused on interdisciplinary and engaged research and education and has held a number of leadership roles with the Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning.

Teaching and Research Areas

Slotterback's research focuses on these key areas:

  • Urban and regional planning
  • Public engagement
  • Environmental and sustainability planning
  • Land use and transportation issues

Select Publications and Funded Research

  • Lauria, M. and C.S. Slotterback (editors). In Press. Learning from Arnstein's Ladder: From Citizen Participation to Public Engagement.London: Routledge. 
  • Schlossberg, M., N. Larco, C.S. Slotterback, C. Connerly, M. Greco. 2018. Educational partnerships for innovation in communities: Harnessing university resources to create community change, pp. 251-268, in Urban Planning Education: Beginnings, Global Movement and Future Prospects, eds. A. Frank, C. Silver. New York: Springer. 
  • Slotterback, C.S., B. Runck, D.G. Pitt, L. Kne, N. Jordan, D.J. Mulla, M. Reichenbach, C. Zerger. 2016. Collaborative Geodesign to advance multifunctional landscapes. Landscape and Urban Planning 156: 71-80. 
  • Bryson, J., K. Quick, C.S. Slotterback, B. Crosby. 2013. Designing public participation processes. Public Administration Review 73(1): 23-34. 
  • Slotterback, C.S. 2011. Addressing climate change in state and local environmental impact analysis. Environmental Management48(1): 1-12.

Awards and Honors

  • Co-Guest Editor, Journal of the American Planning Association Special Issue on the 50th Anniversary of Arnstein’s Ladder of Public Participation (2019)
  • Elected as Vice President (2019-2020) and Secretary of Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning (2015- 2019)
  • Inducted as Fellow of the American Institute of Certified Planners (2018)
  • Marcia M. Feld Leadership Award from Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning and Faculty Women’s Interest Group for outstanding leadership in the ACSP organization (2017) 
  • Designated U.S. Representative to International Energy Agency’s Annex 63: Implementation of Energy Strategies in Communities project, appointed by US Department of Energy (2014-2017) 
  • Midwest Association of Graduate Schools and Educational Testing Service Excellence and Innovation in Graduate Education Award for the Resilient Communities Project (2015)

Consultancies and Public Service

  • Editorial Advisory Board Member, Journal of the American Planning Association, (2020 – present)
  • Co-Chair, Lincoln Institute of Land Policy and Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning Curriculum Innovation Award Task Force (2017 – present) 
  • Chair, Minnesota Chapter of the American Planning Association Fellows of the American Institute of Certified Planners Nominating Committee (2009 – 2019) 
  • Scientific Review Committee Member, National Socio-Environmental Synthesis Center (2012 – 2017) 
  • Minnesota Environmental Quality Board Environmental Review Advisory Panel (2017 – 2018)